Campaign Versioning System - Bug + New Feature
Right now, there is some unexpected behavior with the way campaigns work:
You create a drip campaign with the following sequence: 1) email/SMS, 2) email-only, 3) email only.
You add, say 200 recipients to this campaign.
After 200 recipients have received all 3 steps in the sequence, you decide to edit step 3 & include an SMS, so it now looks like this: 1) email/SMS, 2) email-only, 3) email/SMS.
After saving these campaign changes, ALL PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS WILL RECEIVE A TEXT MESSAGE IMMEDIATELY.
In order to prevent this behavior, you must create an entirely new campaign to add new recipients to THAT campaign, making editing campaigns very tedious.
This doesn’t make much sense, so I propose a change to how campaigns work, which is both simple & expected.
Instead of auto-saving, campaigns must be manually saved as a new version, which can be named (or auto-named).
Each recipient contains a campaign version reference.
Recipients added after a campaign is modified will receive the new version, by default.
This would prevent unwanted behavior in the system, and inadvertently sending/incurring large amounts of SMS messages.
EMR could make this efficient by auto-deleting old campaign versions in the database after the final recipient has gone through the campaign & a new version exists in the system. Since campaigns must be versioned & not auto-saved, the amount of database resources consumed should also actually decrease.
Please upvote to get this change made!
Log in to comment and vote
Comments2
mannie@embedmyreviews.com
Jul 15, 2025
Please look at this request:
https://roadmap.embedmyreviews.com/p/copying-campaigns-and-forms-across-locations
Versioning is not as simple as this. Every solution always comes with it’s own caveats and versioning comes with a lot more then our current implementation which scales much better. The issue is ease of creating additional campaigns if an option exists to copy/duplicate it removes the issue and is much easier to roll out without confusing our existing user base.
Patrick Brennan
Jul 15, 2025
I would definitely vote that the behavior as it exists today is highly unexpected. The past is the past, as they say. Nobody expects that when they edit a campaign, they may inadvertently send out thousands or tens of thousands of SMS messages. That’s simply “wrong”.
Maybe versioning isn’t the way to go about it, but the auto-save feature in the campaigns makes the above scenario highly likely.
I think instead of dismissing this feature request, we come up with a better solution. Perhaps a user warning, or decoupling of a “drip series” from a “campaign”, so the metadata about when & how often to send what is attached to the recipient permanently?